New permanent secretaries appointed

October 30, 2020 2:20 pm

Dr Anjeela Jokhan, Dr James Fong and Roveroto Nayacalaevu.

Academic Dr Anjeela Jokhan has been appointed the new Permanent Secretary for Education.

Dr Jokhan has 32 years of experience as an educator having been the Dean of the Faculty of Science, Technology and Environment at the University of the South Pacific.

Her appointment will be effective from November 8th.

Article continues after advertisement

Dr James Fong has been confirmed as the Permanent Secretary for Health and Medical Services.

The Public Service Commission says Dr Fong remains the ideal candidate to lead the ministry through the unprecedented challenge of COVID-19.

Roveroto Nayacalaevu has been appointed the Permanent Secretary for Youth and Sports.

Nayacalaevu is a lifelong sportsman having been rostered on Fiji’s national sevens rugby team in the 1990s.

After retiring from professional athletics, he built an impressive career in finance, operations and supply chain management.

The PSC says throughout his over 20 years of professional work experience, he has upheld a personal dedication to community-level youth development and mentorship, a mission which he plans to carry forward as Permanent Secretary.

Nayacalaevu’s appointment will be effective from January.