Uru and Nawaqanitawase to start

June 30, 2022 9:17 pm

Serupepeli Uru [left] and Waratahs utility Mark Nawaqanitawase

Two Fijians will start for Australia A in its opening Pacific Nations Cup game against Samoa on Saturday at the HFC Bank Stadium in Suva.

Reds lock Serupepeli Uru and Waratahs utility Mark Nawaqanitawase have been named by Coach Jason Gilmore.

Uru will wear the number four jumper and Nawaqanitawase is on the wing.

Article continues after advertisement

Another Fijian Filipo Daugunu is not in the matchday 23.

Brumbies scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan will lead the side and is joined by vice-captains Fraser McReight and Reece Hodge.

Australia A last featured in the PNC in 2008 and they’ll play Samoa at 1pm.

The Flying Fijians hosts Tonga in the second match at 3:30pm.

You can watch both games LIVE on FBC Sports channel.

Australia A side to face Samoa

1.Matt Gibbon
2.Billy Pollard
3.Tom Robertson
4.Seru Uru
5.Ryan Smith
6.Tim Anstee
7.Fraser McReight (VC)
8.Will Harris
9.Ryan Lonergan (C)
10.Tane Edmed
11.Jock Campbell
12.Hamish Stewart
13.Lalakai Foketi
14.Mark Nawaqanitawase
15.Reece Hodge (VC)

16.Feliti Kaitu’u
17.Harry Hoopert
18.Archer Holz
19.Hugh Sinclair
20.Langi Gleeson
21.James Tuttle
22.Hudson Creighton
23.Dylan Pietsch