Headlines Weather Search






Radio Fiji One Mirchi FM Gold FM Bula FM 2Day FM Radio Fiji Two




Naitasiri beats Nadi

May 12, 2018 5:00 am

The Naitasiri rugby side continues its unbeaten run in the Skipper Cup after beating Nadi 21-13 in the match at Ratu Cakobau Park in Nausori.

Naitasiri led 7-3 at the halftime mark with only try coming from Highlanders prop Eroni Mawi.

Winger Lepani Raiyala then scored two tries in the second half to seal their victory.

Naitasiri coach, Koli Sewabu says despite the win, the players made a lot of mistakes in the game.

“We will take the win. It wasn’t pretty and I think we didn’t really stick to our game plan well and the boys played Nadi’s strength but we have a lot of work to do.”

Captain, Filimoni Seru says it was a great win over Nadi to keep them ahead in the competition.

“We’re glad we played until the last whistle and I want to thank all our supporters this afternoon. Nadi played well and we’re glad we came out victorious.”

Naitasiri fly-half, Kini Douglas says the players played their hearts out against the jet-setters.

“I want to thank the boys for playing as a team and we did our best and we’re happy to win in front of our home fans and thanks to them for supporting us throughout.”

Nadi captain, Samuela Saqiwa says his side give it all and will come strong in the next match.

“Yes, we did our best and unfortunately we lost to Naitasiri. They really provided a tough encounter and now we will go back and look at our weaknesses and better it before next week’s match.”

Nadi’s tries came from captain Samuela Saqiwa and Jope Tavutuilagi in the second spell.

In the other matches, Suva defeated Namosi 21-20, Nadroga thrashed Navosa 62-0 while Rewa beat Malolo 11-10.

Match Results

Skipper Cup
Nadroga 62- Navosa 0
Suva 21- Namosi 20
Rewa 13- Malolo 10

Women’s Competition
Nadroga 28- Navosa 0
Suva 28- Namosi 5
Rewa 22- 53 Malolo
Nadi 72- Naitasiri o

Men’s U20 Competition
Tavua 3- Lautoka 19
Serua 26- Vatukoula 7
Ra 10- Ba 18
Ovalau 20- Northern Bulls 8
Northland 24- Bua 6
Cakaudrove 15- Nasinu 39.
Nukuloa 17- Yasawa 47
Nadi 20- Naitasiri 16
Suva 18- Namosi 11
Nadroga 36- Navosa 10

Vodafone Vanua Challenge
Tavua 10- Lautoka 31
Serua 22- Vatukoula 7
Ra 27- Ba 15
Ovalau 16 – Naitasiri Bulls 7
Northland 39- Bua 0
Cakaudrove 3- Nasinu 5
Yasawa 34- Nukuloa 13